Oscar Wilde and Me

9eabc5fc7fc0bdf17c8933fe3a95b2f1

People, I haven’t written for so long. I’m really sorry. I’ve been distracted by school and song-writing, mainly. But the good news is that I’m just about to post some music!

I’m really excited.

Okay, anyway, I’m back now. So yay. And I, like, thought of a really good idea.
There are so many different smaller theater companies here in California and so I was thinking I could go see some shows more in, for instance, Woodland Hills and parts of the valley.

And then I can tell you all about them because if there is one thing I adore (okay, I adore a lot of things, but you get what I mean) it is watching community theater. Okay, so yes.

Announcements, announcements.
Anyway, right now I’m rereading “The Importance of Being Ernest” by Oscar Wilde, which and whom I adore. I haven’t read it for a while, and as I’m rereading it I am realizing again just how great it is.

It’s a satire, I guess, (I love satires) but it’s more than that in the sense that Oscar (yes, we’re on a first name basis) seems to be making fun of his characters and their originals with a great deal of affection.

Apparently, his characters always resembled him and I think that’s just really cool. I’ve got to say that if I’d been alive a few years back, I would have hoped we could be friends. Not that, like, that would be possible since I probably wouldn’t be an aristocratic Englishwoman or whatever, but ya know.

Anyhoo, “The Importance of Being Ernest” is basically about two friends who each live an assumed life under the name Ernest and who get into different kinds of trouble during the course of what I think is a single day. It’s really a hilarious story and so witty and almost goofy that you just have to look up from your Kindle now and again and shake your head as you chuckle under your breath.

I don’t know exactly how to explain Oscar’s sense of humor except to say that he was obviously a person who could see behind people’s put-ons really well, liked hearing himself talk, and decided to live life how he wanted to.

Which partially involved him making a lot of potentially rude but exceedingly witty comments that people like printing on mugs.

That’s kind of the best, if you think about it. It really is.

Anyway, I must skedaddle but I’ll leave you with three of my favorite Oscar Wilde quotes. Which you might know but which I just feel like writing so there.

Ahrem.

“Sometimes I am so clever, I don’t understand a single word of what I am saying.”

“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.”

“I think God, in creating man, somewhat overestimated his abilities.”

I love it! Read Oscar Wilde’s plays and singular novel today! And stuff.
This presentation was endorsed in part by nobody at all because all of Oscar’s writing is in the public domain. 

Love,
Lil


Leave a Reply

