The Tonys and Me

Today the Tony nominations were announced, as many of you probably know, and I, as you can imagine, was screaming and just generally freaking out. Okay, we need to discuss.

First of all, Hamilton.
Okay, we knew it was coming. We all anticipated. But did we realize IT WAS GOING TO BE NOMINATED FOR EVERY POSSIBLE AWARD AT LEAST ONCE?! SIXTEEN?!!
Maybe not.
And Waitress. I have been a HUGE Sara Bareilles fan since I was fourteen and I love her musical so much. Waitress has a really powerful message, one which I think especially resonates with women. Sometimes you’re expected to do something or be someone that you don’t believe in.
This year is kinda a big year of firsts. First of all, Hamilton firsted (new word) a LOT of things. The cast, the music, THE FACT THAT LIN-MANUEL MIRANDA WROTE THE BOOK, SCORE, AND STARS IN IT ALL AT ONCE, many things. Waitress broke down a lot of barriers for women and I think that is so fabulous. A woman wrote the book, a woman wrote the score, a woman directed it, a woman stars in it. I’m going to admit that I’m rooting for Waitress. Wait, you’re not supposed to discuss religion, politics, or who you’re rooting for in the Tonys? Sorry, my bad.
Another first, that we’re all shocked about, is AUDRA MCDONALD WASN’T NOMINATED!
Oh my GOSH.
WHAT HAPPENED?!!
ANYhoo, Disaster only got one nomination and I’m kinda bummed about that. I’m a big fan of Seth Rudetsky. Another thing that surprised me is Bright Star. Now, all you fans, please don’t hate me forever more, but I hadn’t heard about it until today.
I know, I know, I’m horrible.
Anyway, I’m intrigued and so am planning to become obsessed with it.
Nooowww, IS SPRING AWAKENING BEING REVIVED?!!

*  We all faint  *

I love Arthur Miller so much and TWO OF HIS PLAYS ARE NOMINATED AND JAMES CORDAN IS HOSTING AND HAMILTON WILL BE ROCKING IT AND SARA BAREILLES WILL BE THERE!!
You guys, if you miss the Tony Awards this year, I will probably cry. So please watch them and know that in a weird little hipster pocket of Los Angeles, Broadway Lil is watching them too.
If that would, like, be comforting to you for some reason.
Anyhoo, I love you all and I AM LITERALLY SO EXCITED FOR JUNE 12TH!

Lil


Leave a Reply

