My Musical I

My website’s a little confusing. Maybe you’ve been confused for a while here. Maybe you’re really worked up about the confusingness.

“OMG, if her website’s, like, all about writing musicals, why hasn’t she written one? Hello.”

That was you. Talking. And I knooow you don’t sound like that. But give me some slack. Everyone in my weird little town talks like that and I don’t even know why. Your voice is probably beautiful and doesn’t talk about kale like everyone and I’m getting sidetracked.

Why doesn’t she write a musical?

The thing is, I am writing a musical.

You can faint.

If you want to.

I’m writing a musical and I am here today, in pure theatrical kinship and in the honor of the stage manager*, to tell you all that I have no freaking idea what I am doing.

You can be shocked.

My writing process consists of me playing a bunch of music on my piano, recording it into my computer, writing a bunch of lyrics and then mixing that up with some dialogue my brain thinks of. And while this is occurring I drink tea and sometimes I eat popsicles and store the wrappers on my sheet music stand. For safe keeping. It’s really fun, honestly. I have some wrappers there right now, I think. And when I remember that I have no idea what I’m doing, I simply mutter, “I’m crazier than you, crazier than you,” under my breath at all the people walking by my house playing Pokemon Go and sometimes I chuckle manically.

It really works quite well.

I don’t want to tell you what my musical’s about quite yet, I am a superstitious theater person after all, but I will keep you updated as much as I can. And I will post music from it too.

Now, I have to leave and do something VERY obnoxious.

Lil
xoxo

*You don’t know what the honor of the stage manager is? Well it’s very official. Just saying. Just mentioning.


Leave a Reply

