Bookish Freaks + Theater Geeks

unnamed-4

Are you all classyified by now?

I’m sure you are.

I don’t know if you all know this but for many years I was a smart-alecky bookworm type. If you really want to know, it’s how I achieved such a pasty complection. I would stay indoors all day and sob over Louisa May Alcott books. I know, right?
Too cool for school there. Well, anyway, I never really lost that worm of bookishness, although it was joined by a worm of theater-insanity (if I was twelve I would probably stop right here and say, “insanity just like Mr. Rochester’s wife had in Jane Eyre! Ha! Ha!” but I have learned to keep some things to myself) and now I am a bookish, insane theater weirdo! With a heart of gold! Who is really classy! And-

Okay, enough, honey. Really, even that worm metaphor was kinda pushing it.

Ahem.
Here, my friends are the books every true insane theater-geek should read. I will not say you’re welcome because I realized that that is rude.
AHEM.

The Rise and Fall of a Theater Geek
By: Seth Rudetsky

I discovered this book about a year ago and it was all because of Sirius XM Satellite Radio. Now, for those of you who don’t know, Sirius XM has the best freaking channel of any radio ever.  It is called Brdwy because of some space issues that came up, but if you can get past that, you will absolutely fall head-over-heels in love with it. For various reasons, not the least of which is one of the DJs, Seth Rudetsky. He is so, just so hilarious and was the one who brought to my attention that you do not pronounce it amazing. You pronounce it amahzing you ignoramus. So, just saying. But anyway, one day I was perusing the laden shelves of my local bookstore (Amazon.com) and I noticed that freaking SETH had written A FREAKING YOUNG ADULT NOVEL!
I immediately got it on my kindle from the library. I’m sorry, Seth. I will not pay 7.99 + free shipping with prime for something I don’t know I like. Later I bought it. See picture of book stack above.

Anyway, it’s about a theater geek named Justin who just wants to step foot on a Broadway stage. Um, hello? All of us can relate to that. Justin goes to New York to intern for a renowned actor but all sorts of horrible things start happening. My favorite character was Justin’s Jewish grandmother who is always harassing him. She is so hilarious and I wish I knew her in real life.

The Untold Stories of Broadway
By: Jennifer Tepper

If you want to read small but very in depth interviews with literally any Broadway person you can think of, then you need to read this series. I got one of the books for my birthday this year and so far it has been super interesting. Jennifer Tepper really did a great job conducting interviews with a really diverse group of Broadway freaks. Stage managers, ushers, Patti LuPone, Lin, Jason Robert Brown. Everyone.


Hamilton: The Revolution

By: Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter

Okay, yes a little bit obvious, but if you are a Linatic and absolute Hamilton freak like moi you need to read this if you haven’t already. It has a great history of the show plus the entire book and lyrics, and commentary on the book and lyrics by our hero (Lin, hello?). Just really amahzing. Also, it has really good photos of the show. I bought a copy at the USC bookstore when I went to USC on a field trip with that coding thing I did (remember?) and it was really fun because a lot of my fellow-coders realized I loved Hamilton when I bought the book and this caused them to look at me in a different light. (Wow, she is one of us! as opposed to Wow, she is not one of us!)
That wasn’t even hilarious like I thought it would be and I actually think they liked me before.
Also the book cost a lot and so I couldn’t buy any more sweaters or chocolate that week.

Patti Lupone: A Memoir
By: Patti Lupone

Okay, like, come on! If you don’t read this I will be really mad. Do you realize how hilarious Patti Lupone is? And how much dirt she throws at Andrew Lloyd Webber? Stephen Sondheim forever, yo! (I still love you, Andrew). Pattie Lupone discusses her beginings, as a young child who liked tap-dancing, her triumph starring in Evita (first run in with her Phantom-writing arch-nemesis), and the really real let-down you get when a show closes. She doesn’t get to the part where she snatched a cell phone from an audience member who was texting during one of her performances, in the book, but you can watch the video about it right  ☞ here .
I love her so much!

Better Nate Than Ever

By: Tim Federle

Okay, this is such a good book. I picked it up at the library one day about a year ago because it had a picture of a boy on a stage and the back said it was a “sparkling tale for the musical theater set”.
I found that slightly offensive because I would describe us more as “the musical theater cult” but whatever. I checked it out.
AND IT WAS SO AMAZING!
Basically, a boy runs away to Broadway! And meets hilarious characters! And even gets a sequal!
Five, Six, Seven, Nate. Check it out.
Anyway, the writing is hi-larious and very spot-on and the characters will haunt me ’till the day I die. Also, my sister who is super cool and sews her own clothes and read Harry Potter loved it too and she even sort of teared-up at one point! That is saying a lot. She just told me she didn’t tear up. Well I DID!
You really must read it, my friends, you must.

A Little Bit Wicked
By: Kristen Chenowith with Joni Rogers

Life’s too short. I’m not“*
Yes, you heard me correctly. KRISTEN CHENOWITH WROTE A BOOK! ABOUT THEATER! Well, yes, Lil, obviously about theater. But it’s really a must-read if you hope to achieve complete theater-geek-classiness, my dears. Also it’s just really hilarious and encouraging.

My friends, I love you all and I hope that you will read with a fury and all that jazz. I really have to go because I have to keep writing my very theatery book which is untitled. Okay, my three very theatery-books. They’re all about the thing I love the most and I will fill you in more on them soon!

Now, I am going to leave and before I go I will make a very random and unnecessary Kinky Boots pun. It applies to the fact that I have too may shoes and brought a suit-case of them on my Big Bear birthday trip that lasted two days. Yes, very  relevant.

Love Heels!

Ha! I know, right?! Like “love heals?!” Well, I have to leave before my genius over-powers the whole world.
Love,
Lil
xoxo

*Actual Quote


Leave a Reply

