Wickedly Thrilling News

“Because happy is what happens when all your dreams come true!”

-Stephen Schwartz, Wicked

Hello, hello, hello, my friends!

In case you didn’t know, I stole the line “hello, hello, hello” from Lin-Manuel Miranda who, just in case you weren’t aware, is the most adorable human on the planet.

Today, I just have to tell you first off, is one of the most exciting/scary/vomit-inducing/freaking out days of my life.

Because.

I,  Lil, Broadway Lil, am, today, going to come face-to-face with the master of masters, the amahzingist of the amahzing, the, quite frankly, most fabulous composer of all time….

STEPHEN SCHWARTZ!

Ste. Phen. Sch. Wartz.

The writer of Pippin and Ragtime and WICKED and  POCAHANTAS and a million other things I didn’t mention. I’m going to come face-to-face with this man today and I hopefully am not going to die.

As you may have noticed from my rantings, I adore musical theatre. And cliche as some thespians (you know who you are) might say this is, my favorite musical is Wicked. The first time I saw it, a couple years ago at the Pantages, I burst into hysterical tears. On the first note of the first bar of the first song I was sitting there, scrubbing at my face with my coat sleeve and sobbing, and all the flying monkeys were tearing around the stage and I couldn’t even see anything because of the floodgates opening in my tear ducts and all that jazz.

Whelp, flash forward a couple years and I think I’m a musical theatre composer.

Now. You are probably p-retty freaked-out about me meeting him, but you might be wondering a couple wonderings (my sisters are in a production of Suessical the Musical right now, pardon the weird wordletts I will be using) (wordletts means words) (I know). In response to your wonderings, here is a little explanation. In the form of a script. ‘Cause I wrote a musical recently. So I know what I’m doing, I guess.

Da, da, da, da, da, daaaa!

Lil, 16, blonde, a smidge out of her theatre-geek head comes tap-dancing on stage right. She smiles and begins to sing a song (MUYOT) (make up your own tune)

                                                Lil

                                       ( loudly )

IF YOU’RE IN A SMALLISH FLUFF DEAR

IF I’VE ANNOYED YOU QUITE ENOUGH DEAR

IF YOU’RE SITTING THERE WONDERING “HOW THE FREAK

DO I READ THIS WACKO’S BLOG EACH WEEK?”

(‘CAUSE YOU’D BETTER, DARLING. OR I’LL STEAL YOUR SWEATER, DARLING)

“I WONDER HOW SHE’S MEETING STEPEHN

MAYBE SHE’S LYING, BUT STILL HOW EVEN?

THE WRITER OF PIPPIN’LL BE TALKING TO HER?

MY LORD, HOW’D IT HAPPEN?” WHELP LET ME CONCUR

*dance break*

I

AM MEETING STEPHEN SCHWARTZ

(dah, dah, dah, dah)

AND STEPEHN SCHWARTZ

IS MEETING ME

(do, do, do, do)

HE’S COMING TO TALK, YES, AND  HELP ME GET SMARTER

HE’S COMING TO CHATTER WITH ME AND MY PARTNER*

WITH WHOM  MY RELATIONSHIP’S NOT ALWAYS THAT SPARKL-

Y!

HEH, HEH!

OH, HE’LL TALK ABOUT MUSICAL-WRITING I THINK

ABOUT LIVING AND FIGHTING

USE IT ALL BUT THE SINK

AND IF MAYBE I DIE

I SURE HOPE HE WON’T THIIINNNKKKK!!!

(do, do, do)

I’M NOT THRILLED AND FANTASTICALLY HAPPY HE’S THERE

THAT I HAVEN’T BEEN PREPRAING, SINGING, AND CURLING MY HAIR

AND I SURE HOPE I DON’T TRIP OVER A CHAIR!

WHEN I!

MEET!

STEPHEN

SCHWAAAAAARRRRRTTTZZZZ!!!

 

Blackout

The End

 

SO. He’s coming to talk to me and some other people about writing musicals in case I didn’t get that, erm, across.

(ohmigosh, ohmigosh).

Whew, that kinda wore me out, not gonna lie. Tap-dancing and belting real loud can get to you, haha. Ha. Ha.

I CAN’T BELIEVE I’M MEETING HIM!

I’m so nervous. And excited. Think of me, think of my fondly while I’m gone. Gotta go. Love you all!

Love,

Lil

xoxo

 

*who wrote the musical with me


3 thoughts on “Wickedly Thrilling News

  1. I really love this blog and look forward to seeing it in my inbox each week; I always smile continuously and laugh out loud at least five times while reading. This writer is very talented and hysterical and she knows a lot about my favorite street and I don’t mean Easy street! I mean old Broadway, of course!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

