A Theatre Geek Prepares for The Biggest Night of Her Life

“A girl should be two things: Fabulous and Classy.”

-Coco Chanel

Hello, my dears!

I have returned! As some of you know, theatre is my biggest love. But I also love, love fashion and clothing. I didn’t used to, actually. When I was younger I just wore this one jean skirt. It was a dark time but I was also just very young and misguided. Thankfully, now that I am on my quest for the epitome of classiness, things have changed. If you didn’t think leggings could be classy, whelp, good news. Because of me, leggings are VERY classy.

I only wear leggings.

One of my favorite things to do is dress up to go to the premieres of my many, many musicals that I’ve written alone and star in.

Okay, fine. My one musical that I’ve written. Not alone. That I don’t star in. I am so thrilled, though, and when one is in this theatrical a situation, one must take inspiration from the biggest night on Broadway (no, not that one night when Lin-Manuel Miranda cut off his Hamilton hair*). The Tony Awards.

The Tony Awards are, for me, one of the biggest nights of the year. I want to give other theatre geeks the benefit of the doubt here, but I’m pretty much positive that I am one of, if not THE, biggest Tony Awards fan in the history of the world. When people ask do you tell them that your favorite movie is the 2011 Tony Awards hosted by Neil Patrick Harris?

Point made.

One of the most fabulous parts of the Tony Awards, as we all know, is seeing all the beautiful outfits that all the beautiful theatre people are wearing. Theatre people are different from, say, movie people, in the sense that theatre people INVENTED the art of drama so they really have it down to a T. Even in their day-to-day lives, actually, theatre people radiate drama through their outfit choices, and now that Broadway Lil, aka me, has reached the point where SHE NEEDS A THEATRICAL OUTFIT BECAUSE THIS WEEK IS THE PREMIERE OF HER MUSICAL THAT SHE FREAKING WROTE, it is quite useful to be able to look back on our our theatrical foremothers/fathers for inspiration.

So that is what I, Broadway Lil, have done. Here is the whole story.

 

  1. Carol Channing’s glasses

f15659c33a68dd94ee44e318285b19eb

The first step in creating my theatrical outfit was, of course, the glasses. Glasses, as shown by Carol Channing, above, are one of the most important bits to any theatrical outfit. They can show your real personality in addition to taking the pressure off about the clothing part of things. If you have nice glasses, people will just assume that you know what’s up. Thankfully for me, I already had some pretty great glasses so I didn’t need to do any shopping. I was on to the next step.

 

    2. Kristin Chenoweth and her silver dress

Kristen_Chenoweth_0

For the 2015 Tony Awards Kristin Chenoweth wore a lovery silver dress, which I thought was fab. But I also felt, as I rolled along my theatrical outfit journey, that for my specific musical premiere, my specific role (composer/lyricist/librettist as opposed to actress), and my specific, erm, bank account balance, I would have to go for a slightly different look. So I decided on silver shoes. And in Wicked, Nessarose wears silver shoes, so now I can make a Wicked reference. I know, right?

 

3. Audrey Hepburn in Funny Face

The next step in my search for fabulous was the clothing step. One of my favorite non-the 2011 Neil Patrick Harris Tony Awards movies is Funny Face, which you may or may not have watched. Many people know the iconic all-black outfit Audrey Hepburn wears in her search for philosophy in Paris, even if they haven’t watched the movie, and I took inspiration from this outfit. I love turtlenecks (if you follow me on Instagram you will notice that I am wearing the same increasingly ratty black and white striped turtleneck in a great deal of the pictures) and I also love wearing black, so I knew this was the perfect choice. I decided to go with high waisted pants to change things up slightly (and also mostly because I like to dress exactly like Taylor Swift most of my life) and am currently in the process of obtaining a black turtleneck that goes all the way up to my chin. Somehow people think mock-turtlenecks ARE FINE BUT I DISAGREE!

Ahem.

I apologize for that loss of control. I am trying stop using caps lock. The first step is admitting you have a problem.

 

5. The Art of the Jacket

The last step in reaching absolute perfection, I decided, was finding the perfect jacket. I have an extreme weakness for jackets. I don’t really like to wear outfits that don’t involve jackets, to be quite honest. So I had to do a lot of research. At first, I was sure I needed some fur. Preferably a lot of fur, preferably a coat made entirely out of fur. But then I realized, again, that since I was not the actress in this instance, I needed to be more mysterious and aloof. For the 20-minute- musical written by teenagers.

Ahem.

Whatever.

So I took inspiration from this outfit that theatre actress (that means play actress), Phylicia Rashad wore for the 2015 Tony Awards, picture above.  I wasn’t able to achieve an iridescent jacket but I really like the black duster coat I got from Misguided, which is an online store that I am not promoting.

When I get all my outfit pieces, I will post a picture, but for now you will sort of have to imagine the fabulousness that will be me at the premiere of my musical. But I swear I’ll post a picture. Many pictures. I still can’t believe this is happening, and I know I’m going to see some of you there, but for those of you who won’t be able to make it to the premiere of the musical that I freaking wrote, I will post a video. 

And you all are so incredibly fabulous, I love you!

Love,

Lil🎭

xoxo

 

*I know I talk about this way too much, but I have been scarred, I really have. By him doing that. Ugh, I…I just. I just have to go. It’s too much for me.

 


5 thoughts on “A Theatre Geek Prepares for The Biggest Night of Her Life

  1. OMG, I super wish I could come!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sorry, gotta calm down. But still. I would give up FONDUE to see your musical, but the adults in my house are unflinching in their determination to rid me of classiness. I’m currently settling for punk, whatever that means. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Lil
    I would love to be there ….. and that’s because I am sure that everything coming from you it is absolutely fantastic.
    Keep creating! Love.
    Adriana

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

