It Might As Well Be Spring (‘Cause it is): Spring Greetings From Your Favorite Theatre Geek

 

 

IMG_4397

“All the woods are alive with the murmur and sound of spring”

-Oscar Wilde

Hello, my darling people of amazingness!

In case you haven’t noticed, spring is most definitely in the air. I love springtime in California because it is not chilly outside anymore but the weather hasn’t reached that point where you collapse in the middle of the frozen section in Trader Joe’s from heat exhaustion.

When I was sitting down earlier this week to scheme devilishly for this week’s post, I realized that in spite of the fact that I’m completely up in your faces every (okay, usually every) Monday, I haven’t yet talked about my Spring Tides Journey. A Springs Tides Journey is something I, Broadway Lil, invented, and it is also known as your Spring Doings which is otherwise known as What Have You Been Up To This Spring, You Theatrical Beastie, You? By compiling a list of what I’ve learned and done and laughed uproariously at this spring, hopefully I can give you a little inspiration in your Spring Tides Journey, and if you share your spring-time doings with me below in the comments, I will absolutely faint from joy.

Let me begin.

“Nobody But Me is Gonna Change My Story” (Matilda) ~ Books I’ve Read

Popular: A Memoir by Maya Van Wagenen

I picked up a copy of this book at the library about a week ago, mainly because the author, Maya Van Wagenen, wrote it when she was only fifteen and also because she was wearing a string of pearls in her bio photo. Popular: A Memoir is the true story of her quest for popularity in a very small and mildly life-threatening town on the Mexican Border. Along with descriptions of drug wars and hiding in storage closets at school while across the street, police officers chased an armed shooter, Maya recounts how she rose from the lowest on the school social hierarchy to being the most popular, by using an old popularity book written by a model from the 1940’s. Not only did I love the book itself, and all the classiness that was achieved, but I felt that I’d found a kindred spirit in Maya. If you are in the market for a fast-paced and very honest account of life as a nerdy teenager, I really recommend Popular.

img_4396.jpg

“You Will Be Found” ( Dear Evan Hansen) ~ Finds I’ve Found

I come across a lot in my hunts for interesting things, and I recently discovered something absolutely spectacular. It is a perfume called La La Lily.

Can we all just faint now?

La La Land and my name mushed into one delectable spring-time perfume. What more could I want?*

“All I Ever Needed Was Music (And The Mirror)” (A Chorus Line) ~ Music I’ve Listened To

My spring has been filled with the coffee-stained loveliness of French Jazz. Don’t you just love how I wrote “coffee-stained loveliness”? Wasn’t that genius? Aren’t I amazing?

I love French jazz because of the fact that in spite of my rather poor attempts at conversations in French, I adore it, and coupled with jazz, the music of perfection, it is absolutely marvelous. I’ve also been listening to the soundtrack to Dear Evan Hansen, and let me remind you, that if you haven’t yet listened to, at the very least, “Waving Through a Window”, you have not experienced the complete and utter beauty that pop musicals/Pasek and Paul (they wrote La La Land too) are. Go listen. DO IT!

“You’re Never Fully Dressed Without A Smile” (Annie) ~ Fashion

IMG_4393

This spring, for me, has been all about scarves. When it’s not quite hot and not quite cold out, light, beauteous scarves are just the absolute way to go. May I remind you of all their uses? They are incredibly versatile pieces of clothing. Headbands, neck-coverings, shawls, even things to thwack your irritating enemies across the face with.

Not that I do that. Of course not.

“Don’t Rain On My Parade!” (Funny Girl) ~ Doings I’ve Been Doing

This spring I have been watching a fabulous show called The Great British Bake-Off. This particular show has somehow convinced me that not only can I, too, bake, but also that I am, in fact, a marvelous baker. Provided I narrate in an English accent whilst I am baking, of course. By now I am so marvelous, in fact, that I have decided to share my, Broadway Lil’s, very own personal recipe that I got off the internet and modified for your very own happiness and joy.

Broadway Lil’s Very Own Modified Recipe She Got Off The Internet: Almond Vanilla Shortbread

Ingredients

2 Cups of almond flour

3 Tablespoons of butter, softened

3 Tablespoons of coconut oil, softened (you can use all butter if you really want to but your cookies will be less flakey and I did modify this recipe just for you) (That was me being passive agressive)

3 Tablespoons of powdered sugar

A splash of Vanilla extract

A large pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees, F
  2. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper
  3. Mix all the ingredients together in a medium bowl
  4. Roll smallish rounds (about the size of a tablespoon) of dough and place them on the cookie sheet
  5. Flatten them into a beauteous design with a fork (I do a cross-hatch pattern, but it does make people think they’re peanut butter)
  6. Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until they begin to turn a golden brown color
  7. Remove from oven and let cool
  8. Enjoy alone or with friends. I recommend hosting a small garden party and serving lemonade and hot chocolate alongside the cookies. People will be impressed. YOu can twack your enemies in the face with your scarf.

Now, last but very much not least is this: I wrote a song about springtime and sunshine which I have provided the handy hyper-lin to below. I would love if you’d listen to it!

Sunshine: A Song By Me, Broadway Lil

My dear friends, I hope I have provided perhaps you with a little inspiration, and if not, well goshdarn, at least you can eat delicious almond shortbread. If you share some interesting and fun things you’ve been doing this spring in the comments below, I will be completely and utterly thrilled and will absolutely try them out! Also, darlings, don’t forget to subscribe to get all the latest updates from me on my theatrical life. Just click the Follow button on the corner of your screen and enter your email and your life will be changed for the better. I swear.

Love you all!

Love,

Lil🎭

xoxo

FullSizeRender (63)

*rhetorical


2 thoughts on “It Might As Well Be Spring (‘Cause it is): Spring Greetings From Your Favorite Theatre Geek

Leave a Reply

