New York, New York Day One: A Theatre Geek Takes Off

FullSizeRender (11)

This week while I’m in New York I’ll be posting about my adventures every day. Make sure you’re subscribed so you can keep up with all the drama ’cause, as you probably know, there will be a lot of it! 🎭

I cannot believe it.

I really can’t.

I’m in New York City right now. Right. Now.

I MADE IT!

Today was one of the craziest days of my life. Probably the craziest, if we are not counting the day I crocheted a hat with a brim. A brim. And yarn. Well, it was made of yarn. Yarn in varying shades. It was kind of da bomb. But let me continue.

Friends, there’s been a lot of drama, but there’s a whole tale to tell,  and if The Sound of Music taught me nothing else, I do know that the very beginning is in general, not disregarding creative freedom or personal expression (yeah I’m looking at you, Mr. Sondheim, what with Merrily We Roll Along being told back ways forwards!)

The very. Best. Place to start.

Ahrem.

I arrived at the airport in purple and a New York scarf.

FullSizeRender (16).jpg

I didn’t know what was in store for me, but I did know that the small rainbows on my socks were rather cute.

After waiting and pining after the huge pair of gold-rimmed, rose-tinted glasses that the older woman waiting across from me was wearing, I boarded the airplane with a sense of intense panic (from joy, obviously) and hope in my heart, and I waved goodbye to the security gaurds and airport staff (who I had sort of befriended) and sang a snippet of Bach’s Alleuia for good luck. It made no sense, but it was Bach.

FullSizeRender (15)

The flight was long. It was a redeye. Some people slept. Some even slept during take-off. When I saw those people wasting perfectly good windows by sleeping I may have gone into a slight panic. Some of us have tendencies. But I leaned over the people as they sweetly slept and took as many window-pics as I found to be necessary. Of course I was perfectly polite and quiet and didn’t accidentally jab them repeatedly in the shoulder with my elbow. Of course not. I’m one third Class Attack.

I also watched my favorite TV show, The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, as we flew, flew away (yerp, I made a Catch Me If You Can reference. Queen, you knew it was gonna happen). If you like New York or theatre, or unicorns, or all of the above, a.k.a. happiness, I highly recommend The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. Or Ubks, as I like to call it. People think I’m really cool.

Well, friends, well. Then it happened. I couldn’t believe it, yet also, obviously I could. Ish. Actually, no. I couldn’t.

We landed in New York.

FullSizeRender (13)

I couldn’t believe it and internally screamed piercing maniacal screams.

I left the airport, running on a mix of one hour of sleep, caffeine, and adrenaline, and traveled by train, car, bus, boat, horse, camel-

Train. Mostly train.

I traveled by train to the city.

Wait.

I traveled by train to The City and walked by NYU and into the West Village and through coffee shops…

I flew planes and rode trains and traveled over the streets of The Greatest City In The World. I journeyed.

And then I came to this.

FullSizeRender (12)

Broadway Lil had officially reached Broadway.

And the world would never be the same.*

Love,

Lil🎭

xoxo

*Probably.


2 thoughts on “New York, New York Day One: A Theatre Geek Takes Off

Leave a Reply

